Jim Plumb

wot i been readin   

17 August 2009

Domain name scam from China

Filed under: Computer security — jmp @ 9:56 am

If you receive an email similar to the one below, you aren’t alone. Not sure what the purpose is, if only to try can steal your domain name. If you notice, in her signature, she cannot even spell her own domain correctly. And to top it off, when deleting this email, she wanted a “receipt upon deletion”. What nerve! Good luck to “Keanu Reed” in trying to register my domain name.

Subject: Checking the [domain name] company’s domain name

Dear Manager,

We are a professional Internet consultant organization in Asia,which mainly deal with the global companies’domain name registration and internet intellectual property right protection.Currently,we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.On 2009-8-17,we received an application formally,one person named “Keanu Reed” wanted to applied for the Internet brand “[domain name]” and some domain names through our body.

During our preliminary investigation,we found that these domain names’ keyword and internet brand is related with your trademark.I wonder whether you consigned “Keanu Reed” to register these domain names through us or not?Or is “Keanu Reed” your business partner or distributor in Asia?Currently,we have postponed this application of this company temporarily already.In order to deal with this issue better,please let the principal make a confirmation with me by telephone or email ASAP.

In addition,I must state that we have time limited for one person or one company’s registration.It is just 15 days.If your company files doesn’t resent within the time limited.We will unconditionally authorized the application of ” Keanu Reed”.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Best Regards,

Linda Jan

Mail:linda@worldwidenic.org

Web:www.workdwidenic.org

 

Quote of the Day

As long as you eat in time
You will never go hungry

McMike - 1999



Powered by mijzelf !! en MainCore