Another Fake Email that is NOT from eNom.com
Although I’m not an eNom.com customer I assume that this email and a couple others that I’ve received look like emails that eNom might send out to its customers. Below is another fake email that is designed to have people divulge their account information at a fake website with the purpose of stealing domain names. This is another in a series of phishing emails like those fake ones from eBay, Paypal, Amazon, UPS, Google, CitiBank, Wachovia, etc.
One way to tell if it’s real or not is to hover your mouse over the link in the email. The link in the email, such as the one below, looks real but hover the mouse over it and you get a different story. Here’s where the deception takes place. If you look at the status bar, you’ll see by looking at the complete URL it goes somewhere else. You need to look at all the words in the link. In this instance the real link is http://www.enom.com.com62.biz/. You can see it does have the enom.com in it, but it really goes to someplace called com62.biz. If you use the firefox browser, you get a warning that the website is fake; using internet explorer there’s no such warning. The page is the spitting image of the real enom.com. All the links point to enom.com, but I’m sure the login portion of the page is where they perform their evil, trying to capture your login information. Once they have that, they’ll go to the real enom.com, login with your ID and password, and make off with your domain names.
++++++++
Subject: Attention: Inaccurate whois information
Dear user,
On Wed, 29 Oct 2008 13:00:10 +0200 we received a third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain Whenever we receive a complaint, we are required by ICANN regulations to initiate an investigation as to whether the contact data displaying in the Whois database is valid data or not. If we find that there is invalid or missing data, we contact both the registrant and the account holder and inform them to update the information.
The contact information for the domain which displayed in the Whois database was indeed invalid. On Wed, 29 Oct 2008 13:00:10 +0200 we sent a notice to you at the admin/tech contact email address and the account email address informing you of invalid data in breach of the domain registration agreement and advising you to update the information or risk cancellation of the domain. The contact information was not updated within the specified period of time and we canceled the domain. The domain has subsequently been purchased by another party. You will need to contact them for any further inquiries regarding the domain.
PLEASE VERIFY YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com
If you find any invalid contact information for this domain, please respond to this email with evidence of the specific contact information you have found to be invalid on the Whois record for the domain name. Examples would be a bounced email or returned postal mail. If you have a bounced email, please attach or forward with your reply or in the case of returned postal mail, scan the returned letter and attach to your email reply or please send it to:
Attn: Domain Services 14455 N Hayden Rd Suite 219 Scottsdale, AZ 85260
LINK TO CHANGE INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com
Thank you,
Domain Services
[IncidentID:28820]



